Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

Are you passionate about art or writing? Do you want to share your work with the world? Here’s an opportunity you won’t want to miss.


The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards are currently accepting submissions in 29 categories of art and writing from teens in grades 7 through 12. Since 1923, the Awards have been recognizing and displaying the work of exceptional teens, including the likes of Andy Warhol, Robert Redford, and Lena Dunham!


Each year, The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards recognize the creative work of hundreds of regional winners. Those works given the highest regional honor, a gold key, move on for judgement in the national competition. Winners of National Medals are announced in early spring and are invited to travel to New York City for a three day celebration, including the Art.Write.Now National Exhibition and the star-studded National Ceremony at Carnegie Hall!


Emmy, Tony and Golden Globe nominated singer and actor, Matthew Morrison, right, meets with Portfolio Gold Medalists backstage. (Photo by Stuart Ramson/AP Images for Scholastic).


There are many perks to being a National Medalist. Together, they receive hundreds of thousands of dollars in scholarships each year. National Medalist art and writing is shown in cities across the country in a traveling national exhibition. In addition, winning works of writing have been published in places like Scope magazine, Scholastic Art magazine, and New York Times Upfront magazine. Winning pieces of art have been displayed at the U.S. Department of Education and the President’s Committee on the Arts and Humanities. Who knows, your creation could be in the spotlight next!


Emmy, Tony and Golden Globe nominated singer and actor, Matthew Morrison, introduces the Portfolio Gold Medalists at the 2015 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards National Ceremony held at Carnegie Hall, New York, N.Y., Thursday, June 11, 2015 (Photo by Stuart Ramson/AP Images for Scholastic).


Interested yet? Deadlines vary by region, so head on over to for more information on how to enter where you live. And start getting creative! To get you thinking, here are the judging criteria for this year, direct from the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards website:


Work that breaks from convention, blurs the boundaries between genres, and challenges notions of how a particular concept or emotion can be expressed.


Technical Skill
Work that uses technique to advance an original perspective or a personal vision or voice, and show skills being utilized to create something unique, powerful, and innovative.


Emergence of a Personal Vision or Voice
Work with an authentic and unique point of view and style.

Leave a Reply

Comments containing inappropriate language or content will not be approved. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *